Freshlyground to tour US & Canada!

7 years ago  •  By  •  0 Comments

FG-poster3-2015-webWe are really excited to announce that South African worldpop super stars Freshlyground will be back in North America in about a weeks time to start a tour of the US and Canada. Here are the dates with ticket links:

June 18: Music in the Park, San Jose, CA

June 19: SFJazz, San Francisco, CA

June 20: Victoria Jazz Festival, Canada

June 21: Vancouver Jazz Festival, Canada

June 22: The Triple Door, Seattle, WA

June 24: Ottawa Jazz Festival, Canada

June 25: Brighton Music Hall, Boston, MA

June 26: Rochester Jazz Festival, NY

June 27: Rochester Jazz Festival, NY

June 28: Montreal Jazz Festival, Canada

June 30: B.B King’s, New York City, NY

July 2: Howard Theatre, Washington DC

To top it all off Freshlyground have just released a great new song and video entitled “Don’t Leave Me“. The video features stunning footage of people from South Africa, who were each asked “what does “don’t leave me” mean to you” before they were filmed. You can also purchase the song on iTunes.

Freshlyground is a multi-platinum selling act in South Africa, and have won several South African and international prizes, including MTV African artist of the year in 2006. In 2010 they collaborated with Shakira in releasing the official FIFA World Cup song “Waka, Waka”, the video of which is the 6th most watched video ever on YouTube with nearly 800 million views.

Freshlyground’s latest album is called “Take me to the Dance” and was released March 2013 in North America on our Wommusic label. It managed to reach #1 on the iTunes World Music charts in the US upon it’s release. The album was recorded in the amazing Karoo desert north of Cape Town – watch a video from the making of the album here.

You can watch the official video to the title track here.

NPR’s All Things Considered released a great review of the album here

Pri’s The World/BBC also did a great piece on Freshlyground – listen, read & watch here

Freshlyground’s band members are:

Zolani Mahola – lead vocals
Josh Hawks – bass guitar & vocals
Seredeal Scheepers – keyboards & percussion
Kyla Rosesmith – violin & vocals
Simon Attwell – flute, mbira, harmonica & saxophone
Julio Siguaque – electric & acoustic guitar
Peter Cohen – drums
You can follow Freshlyground on Twitter: @freshlygroundsa

Submit a Comment